In addition to losing your license, you can expect to owe the state of Texas a good deal of money. Fines for Texas DWI offenses are stiff: The first offense can cost up to $2,000. Fines for a second offense can reach $4,000, and a third offense can land you $10,000 in the hole. If you are given probation, you’ll have to pay for a DWI class. Also, if you are a "repeat offender” and have 2 Texas DWI offenses within 5 years, you will be required to pay to install a mini-breath test machine on your vehicle that will prevent the car from starting if you don't provide an acceptable breath sample first. These “ignition interlock devices” run approximately $70.00 to $100.00 per month.
Even after you've gone to jail, paid all that money in fines, and finally gotten your license reinstated, the state of Texas is still not finished with you. The Texas Driver Responsibility program requires that anyone convicted of a DWI within the past 3 years pay the state an annual surcharge. If you don't pay it, you'll lose your license again. Here are the surcharge amounts:
First Offense: $1,000
Second Offense: $1,500
BAC .16 or higher: $2,000