texas.drivingunversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Texas DWI & Texas DUI Information

Alcohol and Driving

What's the big deal about driving after you've had a few drinks, anyway? Just in case you missed all the commercials, public safety announcements, and were never taught this is in school, here is a brief refresher.  Read more...

 

Drugs and Driving

Looking at the wording of the state statute, it's clear that the charge of DWI was never meant to apply solely to drinking. If you are mentally impaired for any reason, you shouldn't be driving. Period. Read more...

 

Diferences between DUI and DWI

Looking at the wording of the state statute, it's clear that the charge of DWI was never meant to apply solely to drinking. If you are mentally impaired for any reason, you shouldn't be driving. Period. Read more...

 

DUI/DWI Basics

You've listened to the public service announcements on the radio. You've seen the commercials. You know that Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a crime. You also know that it kills people. Still, many people who drink end up driving themselves home. Read more...

 

DWI Attorney Directory

Need the services of a DWI Attorney? Find one in your area. Read more.

 

DWI Attorneys

The services of a Texas DWI attorney can be invaluable if you are charged with DWI. Below is a description of the normal legal procedure followed whenever a person is charged with DWI. A Texas DWI lawyer will provide you with valuable help and expertise every step of the way. Read more...

 

DWI Convictions

State law provides a number of penalties if you are convicted on a Texas DWI or DUI charge. First, your license will be suspended. If you are an adult and this is your first offense, you will lose your license for 90 days.  Read more...

 

DWI Costs

In addition to losing your license, you can expect to owe the state of Texas a good deal of money. Fines for Texas DWI offenses are stiff: The first offense can cost up to $2,000. Fines for a second offense can reach $4,000, and a third offense can land you $10,000 in the hole. Read more...

 

DWI Laws

In Texas, it's illegal to operate a motor vehicle while you are intoxicated. To the police and prosecutors, "intoxicated" means one of two things: Read more...

 

DWI Penalties

The penalties for Texas DWI vary depending on how many previous offenses you have had, but they are pretty stiff even if it's your first offense. For starters, your driver's license can be suspended even before your final conviction under the state's Administrative License Revocation (ALR) program. Read more...

 

DWI Statistics

Of course, if you drink and drive and the only thing that happens is that you get charged with a DWI, you are actually lucky. It could be much worse. For example, according to the Texas Department of Transportation, someone dies in an alcohol-related accident once every 5 hours! Read more...

 

Implied Consent

Section 724.011 of the Texas State Transportation Code states that anyone who is arrested for Texas DWI "is deemed to have consented, subject to this chapter, to submit to the taking of one or more specimens of the person's breath or blood for analysis to determine the alcohol concentration or the presence in the person's body of a controlled substance, drug, dangerous drug, or other substance." Read more...

 

Reduce DWI Charges and Fines

If you are a minor charged with Texas DUI, you will have to attend an alcohol awareness class as part of your sentence. Like defensive driving classes, these classes are regulated by the Texas Department of State Health Services. Read more...

 

Sobriety Tests

If a police officer pulls you over on suspicion of DWI, he or she will begin evaluating you to see if you are intoxicated the moment they step up to the car. Does your breath smell like alcohol? Are your eyes bloodshot? Is your speech slurred? If so, the officer will likely ask you to step out of the car and take a "field sobriety test." Read more...

 

Driving University Online Course