Defensive driving classes should not be confused with driver's ed.
Driver's education classes are designed to teach new, unlicensed
drivers how to drive. Defensive driving classes are classes that help
people who already know how to drive do so more safely. Consequently,
driver's ed classes are much more in-depth, with 32 hours of classroom
time, 7 hours spent watching someone else drive, and 7 hours of driving
practice. Defensive driving courses, on the other hand, are only
required to be 6 hours long and do not have the in-car section or a
If you are looking for traffic schools in Texas, Driving University
is a great choice because our classes use a state-approved curriculum.
According to the Texas Education Code all courses are required to have
the same educational objectives, including "promoting respect for and
encouraging observance of traffic laws and traffic safety
responsibilities of drivers and citizens; reducing traffic violations;
reducing traffic-related injuries, deaths, and economic losses; and
motivating continuing development of traffic-related competencies"
(Texas Education Code, §176.1108). Driving University’s class
accomplishes this objective with a interesting lessons that are easy to
use and understand.
The exact curriculum requirements are developed by the Texas Education
Agency, in conjunction with the Texas Department of Insurance. They
include the following:
- Course introduction- The first 10 minutes of class are spent
introducing students to the goals and objectives of the course, as well
as the requirements for receiving credit.
- The traffic safety problem- Approximately 15 minutes of each course
are spent discussing the causes and consequences of auto accidents in
Texas. The goal of this section is to make the students aware that
there is a problem and to motivate them to be part of the
- Factors influencing driver performance- At least 20 minutes of the
course will be spent discussing what influences the way we drive,
including emotional states such as being angry or aggressive, knowledge
of the rules of the road and the impact of physical states such
drowsiness and inebriation.
- Traffic laws and procedures: This section consists of a 20 minute
refresher on basic traffic laws governing tasks such as passing,
right-of-way, railroad crossings and more. After all, if you haven't
taken a driving class since you were 16, you could you probably use the
- Special skills for difficult driving environments: At least 20
minutes of the course are devoted to teaching students how to drive
safely when the road gets tough. For example, this section offers
techniques to help you keep control of your vehicle when the weather
turns against you, as well as tips for driving safely in heavy
- Physical forces that influence driver control: A 15-minute or
longer physics lesson that covers topics such as acceleration,
deceleration, traction and inertia.
- Perceptual skills needed for driving: This portion discusses the
physical and mental capabilities you need to be able to safely pilot a
- Defensive driving strategies: This part of the course takes at
least 40 minutes to complete, and will teach you strategies to lower
your risk of being involved in an accident.
- Driving emergencies: This 40-minute section will help you learn
what to do when things go wrong on the road, including collision traps
and vehicle malfunctions.
- Occupant restraints and protective equipment- At least 15 minutes
is spent covering topics such as the importance of wearing your
- Alcohol and traffic safety- 40 minutes of the course is devoted to
the dangers of drinking and driving.
At least one hour of the course will consist of appropriate
audio/video material. Even if none of these topics sound very exciting
to you, make sure to stay awake and take notes. As your high school
English teacher used to say, "Remember kids, there will be a test!" In
this case, at the end of the course you will be required to pass a
comprehensive exam which may consist of multiple choice questions,
short answer questions, or even essays. If you don't score 70% or
better, you won't pass the class and you won’t get your certificate.
Driving University’s test is all multiple-choice, and you’ll get three
chances to pass it at no additional charge.