Defensive driving courses are classes designed to educate licensed
drivers about traffic safety and the importance of following Texas
state traffic laws. Texas defensive driving classes are offered in
locations all across the state. They are available in both English and
Spanish. If you can't make it in to a classroom, you can also take
classes via CD, DVD, cable TV or the Internet. These methods are
referred to as Alternate Delivery Methods (ADM’s). During an ADM
course, you will be asked a series of personal questions to make sure
it really is you taking the course. Your answers will be verified using
a third-party database.
Course Content and Requirements
Defensive driving classes should not be confused with driver's ed.
Driver's education classes are designed to teach new, unlicensed
drivers how to drive. Defensive driving classes are classes that help
people who already know how to drive do so more safely. Consequently,
driver's ed classes are much more in-depth, with 32 hours of classroom
time, 7 hours spent watching someone else drive, and 7 hours of driving
Any licensed driver can take a defensive driving course if they want
to. However, if you are trying to get a traffic ticket dismissed, the
state does have some eligibility requirements. First of all, you are
not eligible to have your ticket dismissed if you have a commercial
driver’s license. Read more...
Driving University offers a state-approved, internet-based course
that you can complete at your convenience, in the comfort and privacy
of your own home. Since it is approved by the Texas Education Agency,
you can take it to dismiss a ticket, or just to get an insurance
discount. Our course is written in a student-friendly manner and is
easy to understand. Read more...
Defensive Driving Schools
Find a defensive driving school in your area. Read more...
Online Defensive Driving
Internet-based defensive driving courses are a convenient way to
satisfy your court-ordered traffic school requirements, or to snag a
discount on your auto insurance. With online courses, you can study the
material in your spare time, in the comfort and privacy of your own
home. Read more...
Reasons to Take the Course
Why would you want to spend 6 hours of your busy life in traffic
school? There are a couple of different circumstances that might
motivate you to take a defensive driving course. Most of the people who
take a driving safety course in Texas are there because they've gotten
a traffic ticket. Read
Who Teaches the Course?
Defensive driving classes are offered by course providers,
businesses that must be licensed and bonded with the state of Texas.
The classes themselves are taught by licensed instructors. The
instructors are required to hold defensive driving teaching
certificates and to have at least 9 hours of driver safety training. Read more...